Skip to content

Hidden Spaces

Disney Concert Hall Entry

Recently, I was shooting a travel story on the Walt Disney Concert Hall in downtown LA. My assignment was to make some unique images of the Frank Gehry designed building. It’s a popular stop for tourist and professional photographers a like. This building is typically photographed against the skyline of Los Angeles. You see huge panels of folded steel contrasting the straight and narrow city buildings. To make my pictures I had to find a different approach.

Rather than shoot the usual grand vista I decide to get in close. I wanted to get an intimate view. As I looked around I got the impression this structure wasn’t designed so much as a building but as a sculpture. It was meant to be viewed from many different angles. As you walk around the building you make these little visual discoveries. There are stairways hidden behind steels facades and walkway wedged between massive silhouettes. It looks as though the structure itself was pealed away to make room for the exit doors. And when you look up, you see light bounce from panel to panel projecting brilliant patterns on the structure.

I’ve always enjoyed architecture as an art form. The artist, the architect, has something to show you. It’s a visual art like photography.  With architecture and photography you need to take your time and experience the art in front of you.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Good set of pictures – thanks

    September 7, 2011
  2. Fantastic goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just too great.

    I really like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it wise. I can not wait to read much more from you. This is actually a terrific web site.

    July 6, 2013

Leave a Reply

